Term Dates

Term Dates

Autumn Term 2021

Boarding Prefects and Junior Boarders arrive (selected pupils only)

Tuesday 31 August, 4.00pm – 10.00pm

Whole School Address and Staff
Inset, Academic and Bursarial
Staff

Tuesday 31 August, 9.00am – 12.00pm
(Academic Staff INSET until 4pm approx.)

Academic Staff Inset  

Wednesday 1 September, 8.45am – 4.00pm

New Boarders Entering Lower Sixth arrive

Wednesday 1 September, 9.00am – 12.00pm

New Third and Fourth Year Boarders arrive

Wednesday 1 September, 12.00pm – 3.00pm

Pre-Induction for all new Lower Sixth Pupils

Wednesday 1 September, 2.00pm – 6.00pm

Lower Sixth Boarders arrive

Wednesday 1 September, by 5.00pm

Boarding Induction Sessions for new Lower Sixth Boarders

Wednesday 1 September, 7.00pm

Boarding Induction Sessions for new Third and Fourth Year Boarders and Boarding in-house activities

Wednesday 1 September, 7.00pm

School Induction Sessions for all pupils in the First Year, Lower Sixth and for new pupils in the Second, Third and Fourth Years

Thursday 2 September

 

All other existing boarders arrive (unless requested to arrive earlier) and boarding in-house activities

Thursday 2 September, by 4.00pm

Term Starts

Friday 3 September, 8.30am

Boarders’ Activities Weekend

Friday 10 September – Sunday 12 September

Boarders’ Exeat Weekend

Friday 24 September, 4.00pm – Sunday 26 September, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Half-Term

Friday 15 October, 4.00pm –

Monday 1 November, 8.30am

Boarders return

Sunday 31 October between 8.00am and 6.00pm

Boarders’ Exeat Weekend

Friday 19 November, 4.00pm – Sunday 21 November, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Boarders’ Activities Weekend

Friday 10 December – Sunday 12 December

Term Ends

Thursday 16 December, 1.00pm

 

Spring Term 2022

Boarders return

Wednesday 5 January, 8.00am – 6.00pm

Staff Meeting/Inset

Wednesday 5 January, 9.00am – 4.00pm

Term Starts

Thursday 6 January, 8.30am

Boarders’ Exeat Weekend

Friday 28 January – Sunday 30 January

Half-Term

Friday 11 February 4.00pm –

Monday 21 February,  8.30am

Boarders return

Sunday 20 February, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Boarders’ Activities weekend

Friday 11 March, 4.00pm – Sunday 13 March, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Term Ends

Tuesday 29 March, 1.00pm

 

Easter Weekend: Good Friday 15 April to Easter Monday 18 April

 

Summer Term 2022

Boarders return

Tuesday 19 April, 8.00am – 6.00pm

Staff Meeting/Inset

Tuesday 19 April, 9.00am – 4.00pm

Term Starts

Wednesday 20 April, 8.30am

Boarders’ Exeat Weekend

Friday 29 April, 4.00pm – Monday 2 May, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Bank Holiday

Monday 2 May

School resumes

Tuesday 3 May, 8.30am

Half-Term

Friday 27 May 4.00pm –

Monday 6 June, 8.30am

Boarders return

Sunday 5 June, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm

Junior Boarders’ Activities Weekend

Friday 17 June – Sunday 19 June  

Term Ends

Saturday 2 July (Speech Day)

 

Click here to view term dates for 2021-2022

 

Additional notes for boarders

An Exeat Weekend means that boarding pupils are expected to leave the House once lessons have finished at 4.00pm on Friday to spend the weekend away from school with their family or guardian. An Activities Weekend is one in which all boarders stay at school: during these weekends, activities and events are organised for all boarding pupils.
We advise that flights are booked well in advance so that pupils do not arrive back late at the start of term or indeed leave early at the end. If there are any problems, in the first instance please write to the Housemaster/mistress of your child, who will consult the Principal Deputy Head. Pupils in the Fifth Year and Upper Sixth may book flights to leave following completion of their public examinations in the Summer Term. This must be agreed in advance with the Housemaster/mistress.
At the start of Spring and Summer Terms, boarding houses will not open until 8.00am. Boarders are expected to return no later than 6.00pm. Following an Exeat Weekend or Half Term (except for the October Half Term), boarding houses will not be open until 5.30pm. Boarders are expected to return by 8.30pm on these occasions. We ask parents and guardians to ensure that their child does not arrive back at school before the boarding house is open.

discover more about caterham