Term Dates

Term Dates

Autumn Term 2020

Autumn Term Commences for Overseas Boarders
(Familiarisation programme begins – selected boarders only).

Monday 17 August  

Boarding Prefects and Junior Boarders arrive (selected pupils only)

Monday 31 August, 4.00pm – 10.00pm

Whole School Address and Staff Inset, Academic and Bursarial Staff

Tuesday 1 September, 9.00am – 12.00pm

Academic Staff Inset

Tuesday 1 September, 1.00pm – 4.00pm

New UK Boarders Entering Lower Sixth arrive

Tuesday 1 September, 9am – 12.00pm

New UK Third and Fourth Year Boarders arrive

Tuesday 1 September, 12.00pm – 3.00pm

Pre-Induction for all new Lower Sixth Pupils Tuesday 1 September, 2.00pm – 6.00pm
Lower Sixth UK Boarders arrive Tuesday 1 September, by 5.00pm
Boarding Induction Sessions for new Lower Sixth Boarders Tuesday 1 September, 7.00pm
Boarding Induction Sessions for new Third and Fourth Year Boarders and Boarding in-house activities Tuesday 1 September, 7.00pm
School Induction Sessions for all pupils in the
First Year, Lower Sixth and for new pupils in the Second, Third and Fourth Years
Wednesday 2 September
All other existing boarders arrive (unless requested to arrive earlier) and boarding in-house activities Wednesday 2 September, by 4.00pm

Lessons begin for all pupils

Thursday 3 September, 8.30am

Boarders’ Activities Weekend Friday 4 September – Sunday 6 September
Boarders’ Exeat Weekend (provisional) Friday 25 September, 4.00pm – Sunday 27 September, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Half-Term Friday 16 October, 4.00pm –
Monday 2 November, 8.30am
Boarders return Sunday 1 November between 8.00am and 6.00pm
Boarders’ Exeat Weekend (provisional) Friday 20 November, 4.00pm – Sunday 22 November, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Boarders’ Activities Weekend Friday 4 December – Sunday 6 December
Term Ends Friday 11 December, 1.00pm

 

Spring Term 2021

Boarders return Monday 4 January, 8.00am – 6.00pm
Staff Meeting/Inset Monday 4 January, 9.00am – 4.00pm
Term Starts Tuesday 5 January, 8.30am
Boarders’ Exeat Weekend Friday 22 January – Sunday 24 January
Half-Term Friday 12 February 4.00pm –
Monday 22 February, 8.30am
Boarders return Sunday 21 February, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Boarders’ Activities weekend Friday 12 March, 4.00pm – Sunday 14 March, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Term Ends Friday 26 March, 1.00pm

 

Easter Weekend: Good Friday 2 April to Easter Monday 5 April

 

Summer Term 2021

Boarders return Monday 19 April, 8.00am – 6.00pm
Staff Meeting/Inset Monday 19 April, 9.00am – 4.00pm
Term Starts Tuesday 20 April, 8.30am
Boarders’ Exeat Weekend Friday 30 April, 4.00pm – Monday 3 May, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Bank Holiday Monday 3 May
School resumes Tuesday 4 May, 8.30am
Half-Term Friday 28 May 4.00pm –
Monday 7 June, 8.30am
Boarders return Sunday 6 June, between 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Junior Boarders’ Activities Weekend Friday 18 June – Sunday 20 June
Term Ends Saturday 3 July (Speech Day)

 

Additional notes for boarders

An Exeat Weekend means that boarding pupils are expected to leave the House once lessons have finished at 4.00pm on Friday to spend the weekend away from school with their family or guardian. An Activities Weekend is one in which all boarders stay at school: during these weekends, activities and events are organised for all boarding pupils.
We advise that flights are booked well in advance so that pupils do not arrive back late at the start of term or indeed leave early at the end. If there are any problems, in the first instance please write to the Housemaster/mistress of your child, who will consult the Principal Deputy Head. Pupils in the Fifth Year and Upper Sixth may book flights to leave following completion of their public examinations in the Summer Term. This must be agreed in advance with the Housemaster/mistress.
At the start of Spring and Summer Terms, boarding houses will not open until 8.00am. Boarders are expected to return no later than 6.00pm. Following an Exeat Weekend or Half Term (except for the October Half Term), boarding houses will not be open until 5.30pm. Boarders are expected to return by 8.30pm on these occasions. We ask parents and guardians to ensure that their child does not arrive back at school before the boarding house is open.

discover more about caterham