Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in residence

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in residence

The Music Department was delighted to host a series of masterclasses, lessons and recitals led by The Wiener Klavier Quartet (musicians from the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna State Opera), joining us from Vienna, Austria. The award-winning quartet is recognised for its unanimous and compelling ensemble, with a fresh and imaginative approach. Formed in 2013, its members continue to demonstrate a shared passion for chamber music, infectiously reaching out to audiences with their energy and enthusiasm.

The weekend’s programme was devised by Mr Brian Hill, our Head of Instrumental Music alongside Jan Ryska, cellist from the visiting quartet. The workshops were inclusive- from our Transition String Orchestra through to Upper Sixth music scholars and it was a joy to see and hear pupils of all ages working with musicians of such calibre. Mr Hill is keen to forge even stronger links and partnerships with musicians from the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and State Opera which will in time provide the opportunity for woodwind and brass instrumentalists to benefit from their experience and high-level expertise. For schools, a partnership with such impressive musical institutions is rare and Caterham School is proud to be able to offer this to our young musicians.  

On the first day, the quartet treated pupils and parents to a short recital, featuring music by Mozart and Suk. The pupil and audience were highly impressed by the ensemble’s incredible sound, passion and cohesiveness. Suitably inspired, pupils then broke away into instrumental groups for an evening of individual masterclasses. Pupils commented that they learnt much from their sessions and enjoyed the experience of working with our friends from Vienna.

The following day, the quartet performed a morning recital for our chamber ensembles who then enjoyed rehearsals and workshops before performing their own lunchtime concert. The ‘Cello Ensemble energetically performed the world premiere of Jubilate, an original work by Mrs Helena Richards, Composer in Residence and Assistant Director of Music. The Wan Trio, Violet W (Fourth Year), Sophia L (Lower Sixth) and Rodney Lin (Third Year) gave a stunning rendition of Telemann’s Affectuoso. The Watt Trio, Natalie W (Lower Sixth), Alice H (Fifth Year) and Francessca C (Fourth Year) gave a haunting performance of Doppler’s Andante. Our violin quartet (Leo L, Natalie W, and Luke Y, Lower Sixth and Adrian H, Fourth Year) performed Telemann’s  Concerto for 4 Violins, No. 1 with poise and precision. The concert finished with our wonderful Transition String Orchestra performing Mozart’s Allegro with style and enthusiasm.

Huge congratulations to all involved for a wonderful weekend of outstanding and inspiring music-making.

Mr Adam Assen, Director of Music

Back to all news

discover more about caterham